Photo: Jonathan A. Epstein, MD
Jonathan A. Epstein, MD
Year elected: 2001
Current membership category: Senior
WW Smith Professor, Executive Vice Dean and Chief Scientific Officer
Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Penn
3400 Civic Center Blvd
PCAM South Expansion, Rm. 602
Philadelphia, PA 19104
United States of America
Phone: 215-898-8731

Honors and awards

National Academy of Medicine (2008)

Society service

President, 2009–2010

Biographical statement

Dr. Epstein is the Executive Vice Dean and Chief Scientific Officer at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania, where he holds the William Wikoff Smith Professorship in Medicine. He received his BA and MD degrees from Harvard University and completed his internship and residency and cardiology fellowship at Brigham and Women’s Hospital. His work has focused on the genetics and developmental biology of the cardiovascular system, including the genetics of congenital heart disease and the use of stem cells for cardiovascular repair. In particular, his lab has elucidated the role of neural crest cells, and the molecular pathways that regulate their migration and differentiation, during vascular formation. These studies have led to the identification of novel pathways regulating angiogenesis and cardiac hypertrophy, demonstrating the implications of developmental studies to the understanding of adult disease. He has been a strong advocate for the physician-scientist and he directed the Clinical Investigator Pathway within the medicine residency program at Penn for many years. He received the Outstanding Investigator Award from the American Federation for Medical Research in 2006 and is a member of the ASCI and AAP. He is an Established Investigator of the American Heart Association and directs multiple NIH and Department of Defense research projects.

Institutional affiliations

Ben Z. Stanger, MD, PhD is the representative at this institution.


Cardiovascular Disease
Developmental Biology
Molecular Biology

Positions held

Chief Scientific Officer
Laboratory Director
Vice Dean