Photo: Joseph L. Goldstein, MD
Joseph L. Goldstein, MD
Year elected: 1974
Current membership category: Emeritus
Prof and Chairman
UT Southwestern Med Center
Dept of Molecular Genetics
5323 Harry Hines Blvd L5.238
Dallas, TX 75390-9046
United States of America
Phone: 214-648-2141
Facsimile: 214-648-8804

Honors and awards

National Academy of Medicine (1987)
Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine (1985) For discovery of cell receptors relating to cholesterol metabolism. Shared with Michael S. Brown.
Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award (1985) For their historic discovery of the basic mechanisms controlling cholesterol metabolism, opening the way to a new pharmacologic approach to the treatment of cardiovascular disease, the leading cause of death and disability in the Western world. More
American Academy of Arts & Sciences (1981)
National Academy of Sciences (1980)

Society service

President, 1985–1986

Biographical statement

None provided.

Institutional affiliations

Helen H. Hobbs, MD is the representative at this institution.


Cardiovascular Disease
Cell Biology
Molecular Biology

Positions held

Department Chair