Photo: Evan Dale Abel, MD, DPhil
Evan Dale Abel, MD, DPhil
Year elected: 2004
Current membership category: Senior
William S. Adams Distinguished Professor of Medicine, Chair and Executive Medical Director
David Geffen School of Medicine and UCLA Health
757 Westwood Plaza, Suite 7236
Los Angeles, CA 90095
United States of America
Phone: 310-267-3144
Facsimile: 310-206-7291

Honors and awards

National Academy of Medicine (2015)
National Academy of Sciences (2022)

Biographical statement

E. Dale Abel MD Ph.D., was recently appointed as Chair of the Department of Medicine at the David Geffen School of Medicine of the University of California, Los Angeles, where he is the William S. Adams Distinguished Chair in Medicine. He previously was Chair of Medicine at the Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine of the University of Iowa where he  served as the Director of the Fraternal Order of Eagles Diabetes Research Center and the Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism. In Iowa, Dr. Abel was a Professor of Medicine and Biochemistry and holds the John B Stokes III Chair in Diabetes Research and the Francois M Abboud Chair in Internal Medicine. Prior to moving to the University of Iowa, Dr. Abel was the Chief of the Division of Endocrinology, Metabolism and Diabetes at the University of Utah where he held the H.A. and Edna Benning, Presidential Endowed Chair in Diabetes and Endocrinology. Dr. Abel’s research is focused on elucidating the mechanisms that are responsible for cardiac dysfunction in obesity, diabetes and insulin resistant states. His studies have elucidated mechanisms that are responsible for mitochondrial dysfunction that characterizes the heart in insulin resistant states and has pioneered studies of insulin action in the heart. Dr. Abel is the recipient of the Gerald Aurbach Award of the Endocrine Society for Research achievement. He has been elected to membership in the American Association of Physicians (AAP) and the American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI). He is a past president of the Endocrine Society and the Association of Professors of Medicine. He serves on the Board of Directors of Keystone Symposia. He served as Chair of the Board of Scientific Counselors of the NIDDK and as past-chair of the Scientific Advisory Committee of the Sarnoff Cardiovascular Research Foundation and the Board of Directors. Dr. Abel was elected to the National Academy of Medicine in 2015 and the National Academy of Sciences in 2022.

Institutional affiliations


Cardiovascular Disease
Internal Medicine
Molecular Biology

Positions held

Center Director
Department Chair
Division Chief
Laboratory Director