The Donald Seldin~Holly Smith Award for Pioneering Research

The Donald Seldin~Holly Smith Award for Pioneering Research, initiated by the ASCI Council in 2014, connects the next generation of physician-scientist leaders with the legacies of two esteemed ASCI members, Drs. Donald W. Seldin and Lloyd H. “Holly” Smith Jr., whom we remember for both their scientific contributions and their dedicated mentorship of countless physician-scientists. The annual award, accompanied by an unrestricted $30,000 grant to advance academic efforts, honors an early-career physician-scientist who has demonstrated exceptional creativity and accomplishments in biomedical research. In addition, the recipient delivers a research talk at the Joint Meeting and receives mentoring from the members of the Award Selection and Advisory Committees.

Award recipients

2022: Piro Lito, MD, PhD

2021: Rajan Jain, MD

2020: Andrew A. Lane, MD, PhD

2019: Vijay G. Sankaran, MD, PhD

2018: Anna Greka, MD, PhD, and Deepak Nijhawan, MD, PhD

2017: Omar Abdel-Wahab, MD

2016: Christian P. Schaaf, MD, PhD