Welcome to new Council members, 2023

Vice President: Priscilla Y. Hsue, MD

Benjamin D. Humphreys, MD, PhD
Dr. Hsue

Dr. Hsue is the Maurice Eliaser Jr. Distinguished Professor of Medicine at UCSF and Chief of Cardiology at Zuckerberg San Francisco General (a safety net hospital). Her research program is focused on HIV-associated cardiovascular disease and clinical trials including development of a gene/cell-based therapeutic program in different diseases. Elected to the ASCI in 2013, she served as the ASCI’s 2021–2023 Secretary-Treasurer.

Councilor: Susan Cheng, MD, MMSc, MPH

Julie Anne Bastarache, MD
Dr. Cheng

Dr. Cheng is the Erika J. Glazer Chair in Women’s Cardiovascular Health and Population Science and director of Public Health Research in the Smidt Heart Institute at Cedars-Sinai. Her research focuses on how cardiac and vascular structure and function are altered with aging. Dr. Cheng was elected to the ASCI in 2021.

Councilor: Rajan Jain, MD

Goutham Narla, MD, PhD
Dr. Jain

Dr. Jain is an Assistant Professor of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania Perelman School of Medicine, where is Co-Director of the Penn Cardiology/CVI T32 (HL007843) Basic Science Track and Founding Co-Director, Penn Measey Scholars in Molecular Medicine. His research employs molecular, genetic, imaging and biochemical approaches to decipher the rules that govern three-dimensional organization of the genome. Dr. Jain was elected to the ASCI in 2022.